CHSG Awards Winners

2018 CHSG Annual Awards hosted at the 2019 Annual Dinner

From magicians to stand-up comedy and prestigious awards, the 2018 Annual Awards broke previous records.

CHSG Silver Safety Award

The 2018 Construction Health & Safety Annual Awards Dinner was hosted on 28th March 2019 and provided, yet again, another entertaining and exciting evening of events. From magicians to awards and special guest Hugh Dennis, this year’s Annual Awards Dinner was the largest CHSG has hosted, so far, in their history.

Filling up the venue, at the Radisson Blu in London, the evening unfolded with magic tricks and Prosecco, closely followed by the brilliant humour of stand-up comedian Hugh Dennis. Best known for his appearance on Mock the Week and Outnumbered, Hugh delivered an evening of wit and laughter as he presented the awards and entertained the audience with a stand-up performance.

Hugh Dennis Stand Up at CHSG Annual Awards
Hugh Dennis Stand Up at CHSG Annual Awards Dinner

With Hugh Dennis presenting, the awards were given a comedic twist. This is the list of winners for the 2018 awards:

Training Awards, presented by Shirley Parsons:

CHSG Training Awards

BAM Construction Ltd winners of Large Contractor Award.

CHSG Training Awards

Fileturn Ltd winners of Contractor Award.

CHSG Training Awards Housebuilder Winner

A2 Dominion winners of Housebuilder Award.

Fire Diploma Student of the Year Award, sponsored by CHSG and presented by Co-Chairs Andrea Smith and Debbie Clarkson:

CHSG Student of the Year Award

Winner was Steve Fitzpatrick from Knight Harwood Ltd.

Silver Safety Award (aka Silver Helmet Award) sponsored by JSP.

This unique award is awarded to person or company who demonstrates excellence of performance, support and commitment to Health & Safety:

CHSG Silver Safety Helmet Award Winner

Winner was Alex Wood who has shown considerable commitment to Health & Safety, as a previous Director and chairman of CHSG. He has also had numerous entries for the annual Beaumont Safety Trophy.

The Beaumont Safety Trophy sponsored by Jincom EHS Communications.

This trophy is awarded to individuals or a company for the best new device or method of working that helps to prevent accidents in the Construction Industry. This year the standard of entries were particularly high:

Beaumont Safety Trophy Winners BAM Construction and Bull Products

Winners were BAM construction / Bull Products. The winning entry will be demonstrated at the next AGM meeting.

Beaumont Safety Trophy 2nd Place Overbury and Queen Elizabeth School

2nd place were Overbury and Queen Elizabeth School.

CHSG Beaumont Safety Trophy 3rd Place EAVE

3rd place were EAVE.

Honorary Life Membership presented by Steve Hails (CHSG Director):

Honorary Life Membership Award winner Declan

Awarded to Robert (Bob) Hackett. Declan Davis received the award on Bob’s behalf. 

Chairman’s Special Award:

CHSG Special Award to Debbie Clarkson and Andrea Smith

Andrea Smith and Debbie Clarkson (CHSG CoChairs) were joint winners.

CHSG provided a special thanks to Shirley Parsons for their continued support and sponsorship of the Training Awards. Alongside the continued support from Shirley Parsons, Morgan Sindall Construction, University College London, Arup, Kier Construction and Wates Group have provided support to CHSG for their awards.

Shirley Parsons Team at CHSG Awards Dinner
CHSG Awards Dinner with CHSG staff and Hugh Dennis

Celebrated year on year, the CHSG Awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding achievements and commitment to health and safety by member companies. In particular, those that have used CHSG training services throughout the year. Innovation, dedication and hard work are celebrated with these prestigious awards.

To find out more about becoming a member of CHSG, entering for an award or attending the next Annual Awards Dinner contact us here.

Tags: No tags

Comments are closed.