Close this search box.

Beaumont Safety Trophy

The Award

The Beaumont Safety Trophy is awarded annually for the individual or company for the best new device or method of working initiated for preventing accidents in the Construction Industry.

A previous winner was BAM Construction and Bull Products who developed a wireless Exclusion Zone beacon. This is a system that can be set up in zones on a site that ensures the safety of workers undertaking high risk activities in these areas.  These alarms are activated when unauthorised personnel try to gain access. They can also be used in combination with physical barriers too. This entry won the 2018 Beaumont Safety Trophy, which was presented at the 2019 Annual Awards Dinner.

Previous Winners

(From 1964 to 2018)

2018 Beaumont Safety Trophy Winners

BAM Construction Ltd and Bull Products.

2017 Beaumont Safety Trophy Winners

Thames Tideway and FHOSS.

2016 Beaumont Safety Trophy Winners

Combisafe International Ltd.

2015 Jincom EHS Communications

2014 Stay Safe (trading name of Safety Apps Ltd)

2013 SafeTime Ltd

2012 Lovell Partnerships Ltd

2011 Nationwide Platforms Ltd

2010 Knight Harwood Ltd

2009 Lovell Partnerships Ltd

2008 Ardmore Construction Ltd

2006 Ferco Seating

2005 W.B. Simpson & Sons (Terazzo) Ltd

2004 Combisafe International Ltd

2003 Combisafe International Ltd

2002 Clancy Docwra Ltd

2001 Stanford Scaffolding Ltd

2000 Oxford Safety Components

1999 Griffiths-McGee Demolition Co Ltd

1998 Thames Water Plc

1997 Willmott Dixon Ltd

1996 Bovis Lend Lease Ltd

1995 William Bryen Langley

1993 W J Horrod Ltd and Myron

1991 Costain Ltd

1989 Harry Neal Ltd & R D Wimot

1988 O.C Summers Ltd

1987 S.G.B. Group Plc

1985 Taylor Woodrow Construction (Midlands) Ltd

1984 Contain Process Engineering & Construction Ltd

1983 Richard Costain Ltd

1982 Wates Ltd

1981 Richard Costain Ltd

1980 North Thames Gas

1978 Lovell Construction Group

1977 George Wimpey & Co Ltd

1975 George Wimpey & Co Ltd

1973 Higgs & Hill Ltd

1971 Balfour Beatty & Co Ltd

1970 James Longley & Co Ltd

1969 Token Construction Co Ltd

1968 Wates Ltd

1967 The Mastic Asphalt Employers Federation

1965 The London County Council

1964 Wates Ltd

Entry Form

Fill in this form and upload your entry, or email CHSG at with your documentation and the entry form.

For any questions email CHSG at, or call the office on 01932 561871.

Conditions of Entry

Rule 1. The Beaumont Safety Trophy shall be competed for annually; the presentation to take place at the Group Annual Dinner following the competition. 

Rule 2. The Trophy shall be awarded, at the discretion of the Adjudicating Panel, for the best new device or method of working that is being implemented by the entrant for the prevention of accidents in the Construction Industry, whilst at the same time judged to have best furthered the objectives of the Construction Health and Safety Group.

Theses objectives are: 

    • To improve occupational health and safety in the construction industry
    • To foster co-operation between Government, employers and those who work in the
      construction industry 
    • To study the health and safety training needs of the industry
    • To provide training in response to the identified need

Entries shall be made on the attached competition form and submitted together with appropriate supporting details.

Rule 3. Eligibility for the competition shall be limited to individuals, companies,
organisations or educational establishment whose business or activities are associated with the construction industry. 

Entries submitted by a company, organisation or educational establishment may be made either: 

(a) jointly with an individual employee, or 

(b) when the entry is the joint product of the work of large number of people and it is not possible to nominate one individual, then a letter stating the facts should be submitted with the entry for a ruling
by the Adjudicating Panel under Rule 9. 

Rule 4. The Adjudicating Panel shall comprise of three Directors of the Construction Health and Safety Group. 

Rule 5. Every entrant consents, as a condition of entry, to provide a personal presentation to the Adjudicating Panel, if so required by that panel. 

Rule 6. Every entrant consents to the publication of all or any part of any particulars of their
respective entry as a condition of entry.  Any entrants intending to apply for a patent or registered design are advised that such an application should be made prior to any publication of their entry.  If such an application has been submitted at the time of entry, this fact must be made known when the entry is
submitted.  The Adjudicating Panel will give preference to entries that have a practical value. 

Rule 7. The Construction Health and Safety Group will not be held liable for any loss or damage to an entry, however caused.  Whilst every care will be taken, entrants are advised to refrain from sending originals wherever possible. 

Rule 8. All competition forms shall be completed and returned to the John Ryder Training Centre so as to be received not later than 20th April 2020, or otherwise as may be indicated, and all entries must have been developed during the preceding 18 months. 

Rule 9. All decisions of the Adjudicating Panel concerning this competition shall be by a majority vote and shall be final and binding upon entrants. 

Rule 10. The Construction Health and Safety Group reserve the right to amend these Conditions of Entry at any time by notice served by the Company Secretary.

Shopping Basket